Building Home & Family

DIY Crib Sheets (a.k.a. the crib sheets Crib Sheet)

Leave a comment

I am in full nesting mode and wanted some easy DIY projects to make the idea of having a baby seem a little more real. Using this DIY crib sheet tutorial, I made several sets of sheets for the baby’s crib this weekend.

Building Home and Family - Sewing Crib Sheets

My sewing room/library is getting nixed at White House in favor of the baby’s nursery, so I’m trying to use it as much as possible in the meantime. Also, yes: there are two empty containers of ice cream and one of gelato in the trash by my sewing machine. Pregnancy, amiright?!

Anyway, I thought the tutorial was great, but I made this handy crib sheet to go along with the instructions:

Building Home and Family - Crib Sheets Crib Sheet

Note the corner square cutouts are 8″ for French seams and 9″ for regular seams; it took me a minute to figure out why the top of the page said 9″ but the step-by-step version said 8″.

I chose high contrast fabrics since a baby’s eyesight isn’t fully developed at birth. Also because who doesn’t love buffalo plaid and ostrich prints?!

Building Home and Family - Crib Sheets Fabric

I haven’t purchased a crib yet, but crib mattresses are supposed to be standard in size. Can’t wait to update this post with a photo of the crib sheets “in the wild”!

Leave a Reply

